Market gardening courses/books

Finding land, working a small plot or anything else countryside related
Shizuman

Market gardening courses/books

Post by Shizuman »

Gday guys
I thought this might be interesting (hope its ok to make a topic)
As I'm an English teacher i have cash to burn, so i signed up for one of the online market gardening courses recently by a fairly well known french Canadian market gardener (the market gardener masterclass), has anyone else tried it? It was a fairly useful little course lots of interesting information, ive worked my way through almost all of the course now and its been fairly useful, however....... Richard perkins just released a book on regenerative ag and i have to say i just got it and if youre thinking of doing small scale ag for money definitely grab a copy its brilliant! One drawback of the online courses is that they offer alot of discounts (drawback you ask?) which are available in north america (BCS tiller for example) so the savings they tout are lost here in Japan. Lots of good info on low till/no till practices though but not as in depth as i would have liked to be honest. Has anyone else looked into any good courses or books?

Zasso san pointed me onto Elliot colemans book and the market gardener, both great books.
if anyone has tried any other courses or books would love to hear and discuss the differences!

cheers

Zasso Nouka
Tech Support
Tech Support

Re: Market gardening courses/books

Post by Zasso Nouka »

Good idea for a topic man :thumbup:

Did you do the Jean-Martin course or was it with someone else ?

Haven't done any online courses myself but quite liked the look of Curtis Stone's courses at The Urban Farmer Courses and Charles Dowding has a couple imaginatively called Online Course No 1 and Online Course No 2. It's a shame Eliot Coleman doesn't do any online courses but his books are awesome.
Shizuman wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:00 pm
BCS tiller for example