Question about pricing produce

Shoot the breeze, chew the fat or whatever you fancy
procyon88

Post by procyon88 »

Forgive me but I'm a rookie to the farming game but I have a question about how you set prices for selling your produce. I'm growing mushrooms as a hobby and would like to sell to some of the local veggie shops/stands. As of now I'm just growing oysters but I have no idea what price I should sell them at? I'm growing whites and blues, not the common P. eryngii you see in all the stores. Is there a website of common market prices for produce? Thanks for your input.

DocDoesFarming

Post by DocDoesFarming »

Zasso Nouka has loads of experiencing regarding this and will chip in with some sound advice I'm sure.
What we did though with our cucumbers was just price it about the same price as everyone else's stuff, also if in doubt ask the local sellers when they're restocking up their produce in the mornings or consult with the manager.
procyon88 wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 12:46 pm
As of now I'm just growing oysters
That is pretty cool, how are you doing that?
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.

Shizuman

Post by Shizuman »

Thats very cool! would love to try mushrooms one day! what are you using for a grow medium?
I make bread myself, I have been adding up ingredients and time for each product and setting my price that way, I haven't looked into mushrooms much but would it be doable to calculate it that way?
But as Doc says Zasso is the guru!

Zasso Nouka
Tech Support
Tech Support

Post by Zasso Nouka »

A - Make up a spreadsheet and use that to record how much time you spend on each crop, that becomes the basis for your hourly rate (set that at whatever level you consider appropriate remuneration for your time). This first part is the most time consuming and tedious but once you done it the first time you can use it to estimate costs for similar crops.