Fall Gardening

Finding land, working a small plot or anything else countryside related
Logman

Fall Gardening

Post by Logman »

I have ripped out most of our summer crops. I cut back the eggplants last month and they are flowering again. Hoping for some akinasu. Have some green peppers going strong and have newer plants in that should fruit in October. Some cucumbers still fruiting and have a few more ready to go in soon. Now I'm focused on the fall/winter crops.

Direct sowing: spinach, komatsuna, takana, mizuna, shingiku, konegi.

Seed starting trays: cabbage (red and green), hakusai, brocoli, cauliflower, lettuce (3 types), negi.

I usually have 200 lettuce growing at any one time between September and June. The chickens get 3-4 a day.

I have 750 onions in 128 cell trays. This is my first time doing onions from seed.

I simply cannot get carrots to grow in the summer months. Tried many things. Recently I had them covered with 4m lengths of siding. I removed it when I saw the new shoots and they were dead by end of day. Frazzled by the sun. This week I mixed compost with vermiculite and perlite and filled 12 big pots. Sowed carrot seeds and then covered with chopped rice straw. I put them on the north side of the high tunnel o they aren't getting direct sunlight until about 3pm. I'm hoping this cheap them moist.

I'll be succession planting most crops. For example I'll do 25 brocoli each month. Our hatake sustains 8 people (my family, mother/father in law, sister in law's family) - we all live next to each other.

I'd love to hear what others are doing. :)

Zasso Nouka
Tech Support
Tech Support

Fall Gardening

Post by Zasso Nouka »

We're seeding most of tthe same things as you but also doing daikon for making takuan and kiriboshi daikon and pondering whether to go for an autumn/winter crop of spuds, they do sell well in winter.

I've never had any luck growing carrots in summer over here, they really don't like the humidity. Ours have just started sprouting.