Stardew Valley Inaka

Please introduce yourself
stroodal

Stardew Valley Inaka

Post by stroodal »

Hello! My name is Stroodal.

I am a United States Navy Veteran that was stationed in Atsugi / Yokosuka, where I met my wife, who is a Japanese National. I am currently working as a computer engineer in the defense industry.

My wife and I are looking into making a massive life change which involves finding an Akiya for renovation, so we can start living an inaka lifestyle.

We are a young family (just had our first kid out of hopefully 3), with a lot of support from our families. I also have the fortunate ability to sustain around a few thousand dollars a month for the foreseeable future. Our dream is to find a large Kominka with some land to start somewhat of a homestead. Some other members of her family may live with us as well. Perhaps we will be able to create a business involving tourism, food service, or agriculture.

This winter, we are taking one of many trips to Japan to not only see family, but to start exploring some areas we may want to settle down in. I love winter activities as well as drinking a beer in the onsen (if it’s allowed). So we have been eyeing some places around Nagano. My wife doesn’t want to live off grid, and we are also searching for places that offer assistance for families (not sure if we could even qualify).

I’ve been lurking in this community for awhile now, and all of a sudden today I felt like I needed to take a first step towards our dream. I’m tired of this pressure to consume and always make more money in the US. I want a slower pace lifestyle. I want to watch my kids grow up and not be in some commute for an endless grind just to buy the next new thing. I take inspiration from games like Stardew Valley and Harvest Moon. I even started a decently successful micro hydroponics farm in my basement. I’m sure that the inaka lifestyle is the lifestyle I want. I also believe that this is what is best for my family.